View all news

Professor Malcolm Evans OBE appointed to Child Abuse Inquiry panel

Professor Malcolm Evans Rob Vanderplank

16 March 2015

Professor Malcolm Evans OBE, a human rights expert at the University of Bristol Law School, has been appointed as a panel member to the reformed Independent Child Sexual Abuse Inquiry in England and Wales.

The announcement was made by the Home Secretary, Theresa May.

The new four-person panel, headed by the New Zealand judge, Lowell Goddard, will comprise Professor Alexis Jay, Drusilla Sharpling, Ivor Frank and Professor Evans.

Together, they represent a wide range of experience and expertise. Drusilla Sharpling is a qualified barrister with expertise in both policing and the Crown Prosecution Service; Professor Alexis Jay has expertise in social work and led the important work on the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Exploitation in Rotherham; Ivor Frank has extensive experience in family and human rights law, and expertise in child protection matters; Professor Malcolm Evans is Chairman of the United Nations Subcommittee for the Prevention of Torture and Professor of Public International Law at the University of Bristol. In addition, the Panel will be informed by a number of expert advisers in the fields of health and education, and a psychologist with expertise in this sensitive area.

Established under the Inquiries Act 2005, the inquiry will have statutory powers to compel witnesses to determine whether institutions have taken seriously their duty of care to protect children from sexual abuse in England and Wales. 

Further information

More information can be found on the Inquiry’s website. See also a statement made in the House of Lords.

Professor Malcolm Evans

Malcolm Evans is Professor of Public International Law at the University of Bristol Law School and has served as Head of the School of Law (2003-2005) and Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Law (2005-2009). Professor Evans is a renowned authority in the field of international law of the sea and international human rights protection, particularly torture and torture prevention and freedom of religion or belief. In 2009, he was elected member of the United Nations Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and in 2010 elected as Chairperson. 

Edit this page