View all news

Honorary degrees awarded at the University of Bristol – Tuesday, 10 February

Press release issued: 10 February 2015

The University of Bristol is awarding honorary degrees to Sarah Montague and James Wadsworth at degree ceremonies taking place today [10 February] in the Wills Memorial Building.

A Doctor of Laws degree will be presented to Sarah Montague, presenter of BBC Radio 4’s flagship Today Programme.

She graduated from the University of Bristol with a BSc in Biology in 1987, before working as a stockbroker at NatWest.

However, working in the city wasn’t for her and in 1991 Sarah began her journalism career at Channel Television in Guernsey and Jersey.

After moving to London, she worked at Reuters and Sky before moving to the BBC for the launch of their 24-hour news channel.

Since joining the BBC in 1997, Sarah has presented many of its news and current affairs programmes including news bulletins on BBC One and Newsnight on BBC Two.

James Wadsworth will be presented with a Doctor of Laws in recognition of his service to the University, having served as a member of the Council, Treasurer and Chair of the Audit Committee from 2007 to 2012.

He is a retired chartered accountant, having joined PricewaterhouseCoopers in 1971 and becoming a partner of the firm in 1983 at the age of just 32.

During his career he advised many large organisations and specialised in advising on management buy outs, headed the Audit and Advisory Services for the South West and Wales and established Corporate Finance Practice.

James is well known and respected within the local business community, was a founding trustee of Bristol Community Housing Foundation and since retiring has acted as trustee of Brandon Trust and Treasurer for the International National Trusts Organisation.

An honorary degree is a major accolade, awarded in recognition of outstanding achievement and distinction in a field or activity consonant with the University’s mission.

Further information

The official photographs and speeches delivered by the public orators at each ceremony are available to the media on request from the University's Press Office. Please email

Edit this page